NPS Designates Norfolk as Certified Local Government

posted in: Archived Articles | 0

In 2015, the National Park Service (NPS) designated Norfolk, Virginia as a Certified Local Government.

Certified Local Government (CLG) designation makes communities official partners in the portion of the federal historic preservation program which engages local, state, and federal partners to promote historic preservation at the grassroots level.

As a Certified Local Government, communities can use expert technical historic preservation advice from the National Park Service and their respective state historic preservation offices.

The designation also gives localities access to grants for historic preservation that are available exclusively from the Historic Preservation Fund for Certified Local Governments.

More than 1,900 communities now participate in the program which provides local governments access to historic preservation guidance and grants.

The National Park Service designated 34 communities from across the United States as Certified Local Governments in 2015.

Administered by the National Park Service through State Historic Preservation Offices, the Certified Local Government program links the three levels of government into a preservation partnership for the identification, evaluation, and protection of historic properties.

For additional information, visit

source: National Park Service

Published: February 15, 2016 | Updated: February 2, 2018